Geoscience Society of New Zealand

Become a member

Home » Geoheritage


Bruce Hayward, Geomarine Research, 19 Debron Ave, Remuera, Auckland.
See also NZ Geopreservation Inventory website


The Geoheritage Subcommittee is concerned with the identification and protection of the best representative geological features and landforms of New Zealand. During the 1980s and 1990s, the subcommittee oversaw the completion of a national Geopreservation Inventory, which identified, listed, graded and documented c. 2500 different geological features under different subject categories and subsequently according to geographic region. Hard copies of the these inventories by subject area and by region are available for purchase from Bruce Hayward. It should be noted that the Inventory is not a static listing and is continually be upgraded and reassessed as new information comes to hand. The Dept of Conservation maintains an up to date computerised copy of the Geopreservation Inventory for its information purposes. The Subcommittee maintains a watching brief on the welfare of important geological sites and landforms right around the country and periodically makes submissions on Regional and District Plans and RMA permit requests to undertake works that may be detrimental to our Earth Science Heritage.

The Subcommittee currently consists of:
Bruce Hayward, Convenor (Auckland), Fred Brook (Northland), Hamish Campbell (Wellington), Dave Craw (Dunedin), Roger Fagg (Timaru), Mike Johnston (Nelson), Jill Kenny (Auckland), Hugh Grenfell (Auckland), Alan Palmer (Manawatu)