Geoscience Society of New Zealand

Become a member

Home » S H Wilson Prize

S H Wilson Prize

This prize is awarded in recognition of a lifetime of service in New Zealand geochemistry, and is awarded no more frequently than once every four years. This award was incorporated into the Geoscience Society of NZ (GSNZ) with the merger with the NZ Geochemical and Mineralogical Society in 2012. The first award, as a combined society, was offered in 2013. As part of the merger, funds were contributed by NZGeMS to the GSNZ Awards Trust to form a separate account (the NZGeMS Geochemistry Fund) from which funding to support the SH Wilson Prize and other geochemistry prizes could be drawn. Information about Stuart Wilson is included here.

Nomination template link below.


1. The S H Wilson prize will be awarded for a lifetime of service in New Zealand geochemistry.

2. The prize will be awarded no more frequently than once every 4 years.

3. The prize will be judged by vote of the Geochemistry Special Interest Group (GSIG) of the GSNZ and ratified by the GSNZ Awards Subcommittee in accordance with the GSNZ rules.

4. Nominations will be called for at the same time and in the same manner as the GSNZ awards.

5. Should a GSIG member have a conflict of interest related to the nominees for this award they will remove themselves from the decision-making process. Additional committee members can be co-opted to the committee from the GSIG membership by consensus for decisions relating to medal selection should this be required for effective decision-making.

6. The recipient will be older than 60, be resident in New Zealand and have contributed to New Zealand geochemistry throughout a minimum of a 20 year period.

7. The prize will be a certificate and a medal.

The nomination template is here .
Due date September 1.

S H Wilson Prize recipients


Dave Craw (Otago) for his outstanding contribution to fluid flow associated with gold mineralisation in mountain belts and mine-related environmental issues.
Terry Seward for his outstanding contribution to the field of high temperature geochemistry over the last 40 years.