Alan Mason Historical Studies Award

Alan Mason Historical Studies Award

No award made in 2020


2019 Alan Mason Historical Studies Award winner:
Martin Brook

Martin will use the Alan Mason Award to offset some of the publication cost incurred for his article on Hartley Travers Ferrar published in Earth Sciences History, and on-going work.

Martin is working on documenting and publishing an analysis of the contributions of Ferrar particularly to New Zealand geoscience, but also to global geoscience. 

Hartley Travers Ferrar was the geologist on Scott’s first expedition to the Antarctic.  he undertook the first geological surveys in the Transantarctic Mountains, which he mapped to 83ºS, and made some discoveries of major scientific importance, such as fossil leaves, later identified as Glossopteris indica.  He went on to work in Egypt, Palestine and New Zealand, and was Acting Director of the New Zealand Geological Survey when he died suddenly in 1932.



Alan Mason

Alan Mason receiving his New Zealand Science & Technology medal in 1998 from Sir Edmund Hillary.

Alan Mason was a leading science historian.  Following retirement from a business career, he chronicled the history of geology in New Zealand, and produced three biographies of pioneer geologists.

In 1998 we was awarded a New Zealand Science & Technology medal for his contribution to documenting New Zealand's geological history.